ARTICLE ABOUT Rick Parfitt FROM NEW MUSICAL EXPRESS, MAY 5, 1973


I have personally transcribed this from the original paper and you are free to use it as you like. If you use it on your own webpages – please credit me or put up a link to my blog.

I have set some rules for myself on this blog – one is that I will never publish an article with the same artist until I have had at least 5 updates with other artists. Today I am going to break that rule.
When I published the article about Status Quo, someone posted it on a Quo forum on the internet and suddenly I had hundreds of hits on my blog. As a signal for all of you out there – I really do like hits on my blog, and also as a “thank you” to the Quo fans – here is another Quo-related article! 🙂

Image

Musicians talk tape
This month: Rick Parfitt of Status Quo

Equipment: A phillips N2 607 car stereo cassette player. This can be mounted on its own bracket under the dashboard or direct on the transmission tunnel. It takes little room, is easy to fit and operation is simplicity itself. Just lower a cassette into position and click down – the deck automatically switches on and begins playback. The unit will automatically switch-off at the end of the tape and the cassette can be semi-ejected by squeezing two buttons.
Specification: Cabinet Dim. 10 x 112 x 57 mm Fast rewind time: 70 secs. for C60. Output: 5 watts per channel. Wow and Flutter: 0,4 per cent. Signal To Noise Ratio: Better than 45db. Frequency Response: 100 – 10,000 Hz. Recommended Retail Price: £38.74, including speakers.

Parfitt: I`ve only just had the new tape deck fitted and the first thing I did, as soon as I got it installed, was to get the new Humble Pie tape “Eat It”. I find that sort of thing makes good listening when I`m driving. I really dig driving and like to listen to tape all the time.
During the day I usually play things by Pie, Zeppelin, Rod Stewart and the Faces – that`s really the sort of thing I`m into.

Then I sometimes play “Piledriver”. I`ll play it and think to myself, “oh Christ! We should have had so-and-so going there”. But that`s cool because you can use some of those ideas on the next album.
Playing tapes of your own music helps you learn and progress – as far as I`m concerned that`s true anyway.
I find my taste in tapes is different to my taste in records because of the different playing environment. Because I dig driving, going down the motorway, playing something like Zeppelin while I`m doing a ton, really gives me a buzz. I get a little distortion off the set when I`m trying to blow the back windows out but I hope to remedy this when I have another two speakers fitted. I don`t want two at the front and two at the back, I`m having four fitted in a line across the rear.

Image

I don`t always play loud music though – I also have a selection of down-volume, funky, nice-music things. At night, when there`s not much traffic around I might play something like the Carpenters.
I`ve had both cassette and cartridge systems but I much prefer the former – eight-tracks are more prone to problems and a cassette is neater and less bulky. Status Quo used to have a cassette-deck in the old band car and I can remember the number of times we used to play old Chicken Shack tapes on our way back from gigs – particularly “O.K. Ken”. That one, for us, was really great.
Another great one was that Fleetwood Mac set with “Albatross” on it.

Some music turns on mindpictures for us. When we recorded “Oh Baby” we all visualised pedalling a bike, and on the album we`re recording now, there`s a track where we visualise three Arabs walking across the desert.
I know it probably sounds mad but it has that sort of feel to us. It`s like when we did “Don`t Waste My Time”, that brought top-hats and gaiety to mind – it`s got a lot of flair and cheekiness about it.
We`re now doing a country-type track, country to me being the sort of thing the Byrds did on “Easy Rider”. That`s a beautiful tape. But now I`ve got to forget about cassette-decks for a while and get back to the sixteen-track at IBC.
We`ve done about four tracks of our new album so far including “Claudy” which I consider to be the best thing we`ve ever done.

Image

Full page ads in colour for the all-girl band Fanny – someone really believed in them!

This number of the NME also contains articles/interviews with these people: Carly Simon, Roger McGuinn, Tempest (Jon Hiseman), Dory Previn, Glencoe, Grimms, Jack Bruce, Tony McPhee + a special on the music scene in New York.

This edition is sold!

Leave a Reply

