ARTICLE ABOUT Deep Purple FROM New Musical Express, August 2, 1969


I don`t usually post these short reviews of singles, but I will do an exception for those bands where I see that fans are posting my articles on social media. Deep Purple have some of the very best fans, and I have a lot of hits on my Purple posts. For that reason – here you have a goodie from way back. Well earned for the Purple fans.
Read on.

Purple may make chart

Top singles reviewed by Derek Johnson

Deep Purple: Hallelujah (Harvest).

Although it`s had a couple of big ones in the States, Deep Purple has yet to register here at home. And it`s just possible that this could do the trick – it`s one of those numbers that could either be a smash hit or a massive flop! Penned by the Greenaway-Cook team, it`s a medium-pacer with a strong gospel-revivalist flavour.
Ian Gillan delivers the preacher-like lyrics effectively, though I could have done without the screams, while the bluesy organ and strident guitar maintain an atmospheric backcloth.
A disc that`s laden with mystique and compulsion, and which – in its more inspired moments – develops a rock-like quality.

The original music paper this article came from (pictured at the top) is for sale!
Send me an e-mail if you are interested. Send it to: geirmykl@gmail.com
The offer should be 20 $ (US Dollars) to be considered. (This includes postage).
We conduct the transaction through my verified Paypal account for the safety of both parties.
If you have a large collection of the following magazines, don`t throw them out, but contact me as I would be very interested in these: Creem, Circus, Hit Parader and Metal Edge.

If you have a music-related web-page where this fits – please make a link to the article. With credits to the original writer of the article from all of us music fans!

One comment

Leave a comment